Lipstick On A Pig

Margot Austin, Senior Design Editor at House and Home, recently posted a list of items she’s over, which included “spray lacquering substandard furniture”. However, she follows her point noting that pieces with no merit in the first place can be sprayed; she calls this putting “lipstick on a pig”, and it perfectly describes my bedside table project!

The boring old table was a cast-off, but J and I can’t remember where it came from. The surface is scratched and notched, but it has served as a sturdy support for my various bedside books and etc.

I brought the table to the backyard, where I dusted it, and cleared the nooks and crannies with compressed air. The top surface of the table had been previously sanded (if I did it, I don’t remember), but I went over the entire piece with a sanding block anyway.

Time to slap some lipstick on this ugly pig:

Krylon spray paint in Bahama Sea.

…and an hour later, I have a distressed blue bedside table:

The raku seashells are from Northeastern Folk Art, and the teacup candle was a gift from a good friend.

See our similar projects here:
The Very Bright End Tables
Reclaimed Floor Cabinet
Reclaimed Footstool

6 Comments

Filed under Arts+Crafts, Bedrooms

6 responses to “Lipstick On A Pig

  1. I love your table! After I read your post, I laughed out loud and said “I have put lipstick on a lot of pigs!!!” Doesn’t it feel good when you complete little projects like that one, though?

    I love your blog and I will be back.

    Cheers

  2. Heritage Row Reno

    Thanks so much, Kathleen! It’s amazing to transform ugly or plain pieces into something more fun, in less than an hour! I think I love spray paint a bit too much.

  3. wow- my mom (Kathleen, from above comment) told me about your blog and I LOVE it!!!! You have a new reader πŸ™‚

    I have a blog too, if you want to stop by…
    have a great weekend!

    newfoundlandlove.blogspot.com

    • Heritage Row Reno

      Hi Rana, thanks SO much for your kind words! I’m so happy you like what you’ve seen πŸ™‚ I just checked out your blog, and I’ll link both you and your mom’s site.

  4. Hey there
    Check my blog for May 20. There’s a little surprise for you there!
    Cheers!

    • Heritage Row Reno

      Hi Kathleen! We’ve been spending a lot of time away from the city, and I just saw your comment: thanks for the nomination!!

Leave a Reply

